University Board

The University’s highest decision-making body

The University Board's is to “supervise all matters concerning the higher education institution and shall be responsible for the performance of its duties”, according to the Higher Education Act, chapter 2 section 2.

The University Board is made up of the Vice-Chancellor, eight community representatives appointed by the Government, of which one is Chair of the Board, three members of the academic staff and three students.

The members are appointed for three years, except for the student representatives, who are appointed for one year. The current term of office for the community representatives and academic staff representatives is 1 May 2020–30 April 2023. The student representatives sit from 1 July to 30 June.

The University Board
The University Board (photo taken in September 2019)

University Board members


  • Jonas Hafström, Ambassador

University Vice-Chancellor

  • Professor Torbjörn von Schantz

Community representatives

  • Annika Winsth, Chief Financial Officer, Nordea
  • Gudrun Antemar, Chief Judge, Stockholm District Court
  • Gunnar Wetterberg, Author
  • Ingrid Bengtsson-Rijavec, Chief Financial Officer, Malmö University
  • Jens Oddershede, Professor Syddansk University
  • Torbjörn Lundahl, R&D Director, Ericsson
  • Wanja Lundby-Wedin, First Vice Chairperson Church of Sweden

Academic staff representatives

  • Professor Anne L’Huillier, Faculty of Engineering
  • Professor Christofer Edling, Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Professor Lars Dahlin, Faculty of Medicine

Student representatives

  • Linnea Karlsson
  • Tim Djärf
  • Sanela Lulic


  • Anna Åkesson, Policy Officer, Office of the Vice-Chancellor

Contact information

Anna Åkesson, Policy Officer
anna [dot] akesson [at] rektor [dot] lu [dot] se
+46 (0)46 222 9435

To contact Jonas Hafström, please email:

Gerd Hawaleska, Secretary
gerd [dot] hawaleska [at] rektor [dot] lu [dot] se
+46 (0)46 222 3895
+46 (0)706 19 3895

Board meetings


  • Friday 14 February
  • Friday 24 April
  • Thursday 11–Friday 12 June
  • Friday 18 September
  • Friday 23 October
  • Tuesday 15 December