Your browser has javascript turned off or blocked. This will lead to some parts of our website to not work properly or at all. Turn on javascript for best performance.

The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

University Board

The University’s highest decision-making body

The University Board's mission is to “supervise all matters concerning the higher education institution and shall be responsible for the performance of its duties”, according to the Higher Education Act, chapter 2 section 2.

The University Board is made up of the vice-chancellor, eight community representatives appointed by the Government, of which one is chair of the board, three members of the academic staff and three students.

The members are appointed for three years, except for the student representatives, who are appointed for one year. The current term of office for the community representatives and academic staff representatives is 1 May 2020–30 April 2023. The student representatives sit from 1 July to 30 June.

University Board members


  • Jonas Hafström, Ambassador

University Vice-Chancellor

  • Professor Erik Renström

Community representatives

  • Annika Winsth, Chief Economist, Nordea
  • Gudrun Antemar, Chief Judge, Stockholm District Court
  • Gunnar Wetterberg, Author
  • Ingrid Bengtsson-Rijavec, Chief Financial Officer, Malmö University
  • Jens Oddershede, Professor Syddansk University
  • Torbjörn Lundahl, R&D Director, Ericsson
  • Wanja Lundby-Wedin, First Vice Chairperson Church of Sweden

Academic staff representatives

  • Professor Anne L’Huillier, Faculty of Engineering
  • Professor Christofer Edling, Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Professor Lars Dahlin, Faculty of Medicine

Student representatives

  • Alexandra Billett
  • Malin Bruce
  • Samuel Hertsberg Åsander


  • Anna Åkesson, Policy Officer, Office of the Vice-Chancellor

Contact information

Anna Åkesson, Policy Officer

anna [dot] akesson [at] rektor [dot] lu [dot] se

+46 (0)46 222 9435

To contact Chairperson Jonas Hafström, please email:

Johanna Albihn, Secretary to the University Director 

johanna [dot] albihn [at] rektor [dot] lu [dot] se

+46 (0)46 222 3895
+46 (0)706 19 3895

Board meetings


  • Wednesday 17 February
  • Wednesday 21 April
  • Thursday 17–Friday 18 June
  • Friday 24 September
  • Friday 29 October
  • Wednesday 15 December