Javascript is not activated in your browser. This website needs javascript activated to work properly.
You are here

University Management

Vice-Chancellor Torbjörn von Schantz
Vice-Chancellor Torbjörn von Schantz

Vice-Chancellor Torbjörn von Schantz is the University’s chief representative and, on behalf of the University Board, is responsible for the management of the University’s activities and ensuring the goals set by the University Board are achieved. The Vice-Chancellor issues regulations and has a general duty of supervision for the University. This includes both monitoring activities and taking the initiative for renewal and change. The Vice-Chancellor is a member of the University Board.

The Vice-Chancellor is appointed by the Swedish Government for a maximum of six years, following a recommendation by the University Board. Torbjörn von Schantz is Vice-Chancellor for the period 1 January 2015–28 February 2019.

Torbjörn von Schantz is a professor of zoology/animal ecology and has previously served as Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) and as the Dean of the Faculty of Science at Lund University.

Torbjörn von Schantz has overall responsibility for all the University’s activities (in cooperation with Deputy Vice-Chancellor Eva Wiberg). 
Follow Torbjörn's Vice-Chancellor's blog (in Swedish).

Eva Wiberg, Deputy-Vice Chancellor, Lund University
Deputy Vice-Chancellor Eva Wiberg

Professor Eva Wiberg is Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Lund University and has special responsibility for first-, second- and third-cycle education and associated quality assurance. She is also responsible for international affairs.

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor is appointed by the University Board for a maximum term of six years.

Eva Wiberg is a Professor of Italian. Her research concerns second language acquisition and bilingualism, with a focus on Italian. Eva Wiberg has long experience of teaching and supervision. She is a Dame of the Order of the Star of Italian Solidarity (Stella della Solidarietà Italiana) for her outstanding contribution to the development of Italian at Lund University.

After gaining a German university entrance certificate in Rome, Eva Wiberg took a degree in modern languages at Lund University and studied at Università la Sapienza in Rome.

  • 1997 PhD in Romance Languages, specialising in Italian, Lund University
  • 1999–2000 Postdoctoral fellowship at Università di Pavia, Italy
  • 1998 Senior Lecturer at Lund University
  • 2004 Reader in Italian
  • 2004–2005 Head of the Department of Romance Languages
  • 2006–2008 Dean of the Languages and Literature Division within the Faculties of Humanities and Theology with special responsibility for first- and second-cycle education. Also first Head of Department of the Centre for Languages and Literature.
  • 2009–2011 Pro-Dean of the Faculties of Humanities and Theology with special responsibility for first- and second-cycle education and internationalisation
  • 2010–2011 National Bologna expert
  • 2012 Professor of Italian
  • 2012- current Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Lund University

Other positions (selected):

  • Executive Director of the global university network Universitas 21
  • Chair of the network USI – Universities and Swedish institutes around the Mediterranean in collaboration for internationalisation
  • External member of the Board of Kristianstad University
  • Member of the steering group for the LERU Vice-Rectors for Teaching and Learning Community
  • As Deputy Vice-Chancellor for education, Eva Wiberg is the chair of the Education Board at Lund University (first-, second- and third-cycle with associated internationalisation and recruitment matters
  • Member of the board of Spyken upper secondary school in Lund

Follow Eva's Deputy Vice-Chancellor's blog (in English)

Stacey Ristinmaa Sörensen, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Lund University
Pro Vice-Chancellor
Stacey Ristinmaa Sörensen

Stacey Ristinmaa Sörensen is pro vice-chancellor for research and research infrastructure.

Stacey Ristinmaa Sörensen is a professor of physics at Lund University and head of the Division of Synchrotron Radiation Research. She is a member of the board of Lund Laser Centre and has previously held a number of other board positions, including at the Swedish Research Council and as vice-chair of MAX IV. She has also been a member and chair of the evaluation panel for molecular, cell and material research at the Council for Research Infrastructure (RFI). For six years she was pro-dean of the Faculty of Science.

Bo Ahren, Pro Vice-Cancellor, Lund University
Pro Vice-Chancellor
Bo Ahrén

Bo Ahrén is pro vice-chancellor for external engagement.

Bo Ahrén is a professor of clinical metabolic research at the Department of Clinical Sciences in Lund and a consultant at the Endocrinology Clinic, Skåne University Hospital. He conducts research on diabetes and has been involved in developing new drugs to treat type 2 diabetes. Bo Ahrén has previously been chief of medicine at Region Skåne and head of the research clinic at Skåne University Hospital in Lund. He was dean of the Faculty of Medicine for six years from 2006.

Profile picture Susanne Kristenson
University Director
Susanne Kristensson

Susanne Kristensson is the University Director and responsible for university administration and finances on behalf of the Vice-Chancellor, and for the duties of the University’s central administration.

Susanne Kristensson has a Master’s degree in Law. She worked at United Nations Centre for Human Rights, Geneva (1992), District Court (1993 -1995) and Police Authority (1996-1997) before she started her employment as a Legal Counsel at Lund University in 1997.

She has been Chief Legal Counsel at the University since 2005. She was head of Management Support within the central administration in 2009 – 2012.

Page Manager:

Contact information


Vice-Chancellor Torbjörn von Schantz
rektor [at]
+46 (0)46 222 7001

Vice-Chancellor's secretary Elisabet Edman
elisabet.edman [at]
+46 (0)46 222 7003

Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Eva Wiberg
eva.wiberg [at]
+46 (0)46 222 7005

Deputy Vice-Chancellor's secretary Eva Porenius
eva.porenius [at]
+46 (0)46 222 7093

Pro Vice-Chancellors

Pro Vice-Chancellor Stacey Ristinmaa Sörensen (Research and Research infrastructure)

stacey.sorensen [at]
+46 (0)46 222 7265

Stacey Ristinmaa Sörensen's seceretary Gerd Hawaleska
gerd.hawaleska [at]
+46 (0)46 222 3895

Pro Vice-Chancellor Bo Ahrén (External engagement)
bo.ahren [at]
+46(0)46 222 7075

Bo Ahrén's seceretary Johanna Albihn
johanna.albihn [at]
+46 (0)46 222 7004

University Director

University Director Susanne Kristensson
susanne.kristensson [at]
+46 (0)46 222 7002

University Director Secretary:
Johanna Albihn

johanna.albihn [at]
+46 (0)46 222 7004