The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Anne and Gilbert's Falling in Love in L.M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables series


  • Mia Johansson

Summary, in English

Francesco Alberoni, a sociologist, has

written Falling in Love and Loving. Alberoni's theories,which are found in this book, concern the four phases he has identified for the process of falling in love: ignition phase, denial, realisation and outcome.

The aim of this paper is to make use of Alberoni's phases to be able to answer the question how the process of falling in love is represented in the Canadian writer L.M. Montgomery's

Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne of Windy Poplars and Anne's House of Dreams.


Publishing year




Document type

Student publication for Bachelor's degree


  • Languages and Literatures


  • Falling in love
  • Förälskelse
  • Alberoni, Francesco
  • Montgomery, L.M.
  • Anne of Green Gables
  • Female novel of development
  • Kvinnlig utvecklingsroman
  • English literature
  • Engelsk litteratur


  • Cecilia Wadsö Lecaros