The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

University Board

The University’s highest decision-making body

The University Board's mission is to “supervise all matters concerning the higher education institution and shall be responsible for the performance of its duties”, according to the Higher Education Act, chapter 2 section 2.

The University Board is made up of the vice-chancellor, eight community representatives appointed by the Government, of which one is chair of the board, three members of the academic staff and three students.

The members are appointed for three years, except for the student representatives, who are appointed for one year. The current term of office for the community representatives and academic staff representatives is 1 May 2020–30 April 2023. The student representatives sit from 1 July to 30 June.

University Board members


  • Jonas Hafström, former Ambassador

University Vice-Chancellor

  • Erik Renström, Professor

Community representatives

  • Annika Winsth, Chief Economist, Nordea
  • Gudrun Antemar, Chief Judge, Stockholm District Court
  • Gunnar Wetterberg, Author
  • Ingrid Bengtsson-Rijavec, Chief Financial Officer, Malmö University
  • Jens Oddershede, Professor Syddansk University
  • Torbjörn Lundahl, R&D Director, Ericsson
  • Wanja Lundby-Wedin, First Vice Chairperson Church of Sweden

Academic staff representatives

  • Anne L’Huillier, Professor
  • Christofer Edling, Professor
  • Lars Dahlin, Professor

Student representatives

  • Hjalmar Åhman
  • Malin Bruce
  • Tindra Weichselbraun Alvander


  • Anna Åkesson, Policy Officer, Office of the Vice-Chancellor

Contact information

Anna Åkesson, Policy Officer

anna [dot] akesson [at] rektor [dot] lu [dot] serel="noopener noreferrer" target="_blank"

+46 (0)46 222 9435

To contact Chairperson Jonas Hafström, please email:

Wiveca Ericsson, Secretary to the University Director 

wiveca [dot] ericsson [at] rektor [dot] lu [dot] se

+46 (0)46 222 7004
+46 (0)703 05 4579

Board meetings 2022

  • Tuesday 15 February
  • Friday 22 April
  • Monday 13 June–Tuesday 14 June
  • Wednesday 21 September
  • Friday 28 October
  • Monday 19 December